Follow

I edited an outgoing email, but the old version of my email went out instead!

I edited an outgoing email, but the old version of my email went out instead!

Not all customers can receive HTML email, so the system automatically creates a plaintext version of the email. You can view and edit the plaintext version by clicking the "Plain Text" tab in the email form. The plain text version does not change when the HTML version is edited. So when you save, reopen, and edit the HTML version of the email, the plain text version does not modify, you have to change it separately. If you never changed the plain text version of the email to match the HTML version, the unchanged plain text version went out along with the edited HTML version.

We always suggest checking the plaintext version of the email to make sure its formatted correctly and looks good. It's always worth a few extra seconds to make sure all your ad copy is clean and professional.

 

Did everyone see the old version of my email?

No. Luckily, almost no one saw the plain text version of the email, almost everyone saw the updated HTML version. The plain text version of the email is used only when the subscriber cannot view HTML, and the vast majority of subscribers can view HTML.

 

But the logs show the old version going out to everyone.

Of course, the logs don't display HTML, so the logs show the plaintext version. The updated HTML version went out and was viewed by most subscribers.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk